Red Star

Released - 11th November 1977
Catalogue Number (LP) - Arista SPARTY 1023
UK Album Chart Position - 20
Weeks on Chart - 10

Pasted Graphic 1
During 1977, the band had three top-5 hits; ‘When’, ‘You Got What It Takes’, and ‘Dancin’ Party’, and were playing sold out gigs all over the UK and Europe - the tour starting in Preston on 16th October 1977 and ending in Leicester on 7th December 1977 was sold out altogether - so it was somewhat surprising that ‘Red Star’ only attained the number 20 chart position.

The album stayed in the charts for 2 and a half months however, and still achieved Gold status so the chart position was perhaps not reflective of its popularity.

Dave Bartram later noted that the album contained an ’unlucky’ 13 tracks rather than the usual twelve.

Nevertheless, ‘Red Star’ is one of the band’s strongest albums, with all three of 1977’s top-5 hits featured, as well as Dave’s long time favourite to this day, Swansong’.

Al James contributed a track again with the rocker ‘Feelin’’; and ‘’68 Teenage Queen’ and ‘Somethin’ Else’ giving the album an harder rock ’n’ roll feel.

Overall the album featured 7 originals and 6 covers, which was reflective of the band’s chart success with rousing revivals of covers as singles consistently riding high in the charts.

To follow up the ‘Trocadero’ LP’s quirk of a gatefold sleeve, ‘Red Star’ featured a full colour inner sleeve with live photos of the band, rather than the usual plain white inner sleeve.

1. Dancin' Party
2. '68 Teenage Queen
3. You Got What It Takes
4. Lucy Jane (Part 2)
5. In Above Your Head
6. Sweet Georgia
7. Somethin' Else
8. (You've Got) Personality
9. Feelin'
10. Listen To Me
11. When
12. Maybe Maybe Maybe
13. Swansong