The Sun Album (I Betcha Gonna Like It)

Released - 21st April 2008
Catalogue Number (LP) - Voiceprint WADDYVP1CD
UK Album Chart Position - /
Weeks on Chart - /

Pasted Graphic
Showaddywaddy’s final album (to date) was released in 2008 and features 18 songs originally recorded by artists assigned to the Sun Records label.

Some of these songs were quite well known at the time they were originally released in the ‘50s and ‘60s, whilst others hardly saw the light of day.

Dave Bartram was the driving force behind the project, ploughing through nearly 10,000 Sun Studios recordings, and narrowing down the list to a couple of dozen to present to the rest of the band, from which the recorded tracks were chosen.

The result is an extremely strong album that was extremely well received by fans and the music industry like, and the band themselves think it’s amongst the best material they have ever recorded since 1974.

Three other tracks were recorded (titles unknown), and held back to be put on an EP, and at the time of writing these have not yet been released.

The album cover is unusual in that it only shows Dave on the front - however this is a representation of Dave hunting down the tracks and trying to peer through the blinds of the studios as part of his meticulous research. Memphis Recording Service was the original name of the studios, which shared the same building as the Sun Records label.

The first 500 copies of the album were released with a DVD, which featured interviews with the band at the recording studios in Wales, and also with Dave Bartram and Danny Willson at Sun Studio, Memphis, Tennessee.

Voiceprint released a preview of the album on YouTube a few months before the album was released.

1. Lift Off
2. Flyin' Saucer Rock n Roll
3. Betcha Gonna Like It
4. Lovin Up A Storm
5. Tweedle Dee
6. Uh Huh Oh Yeh
7. Claudette
8. Bobaloo
9. Put Me Down
10. Who Will The Next Fool Be
11. My Bucket's Got A Hole In It
12. Let's Go, Let's Go, Let's Go
13. Nothin Shakin
14. Uranium Rock
15. Apron Strings
16. Do What I Do
17. Drinkin Scotch
18. Find My Baby For Me